My name is Joseph Mulbah; I am a Liberian.

I was born on April 11, 1993 in Beyan Town, Salayea District, Lofa County.  I wrote this story for people to know some of the events that occurred in Liberia:

The Bloody and Painful War of Liberia

The Bloody War started in 2001 and ended in 2003. This war is known as the Bloody War because millions of Liberians died.

The Bloody War was painful and sorrowful because parents lost their children, and children lost their parents.

When the war began, children joined the rebels by killing others. When the children returned home, they were advised about the wrong things they were doing, and they became angry. Some of them were even angry enough to kill their own parents.

The Bloody War started in Lofa County. Most of the war was fought in Lofa County because there, the rebels started killing the citizens. After they had captured Lofa, they begin to push forward to Gbarnga, the capital of Bong County.

Because of the war, some Liberians were forced to travel to other countries, such as Guinea, the Ivory Coast, and Sierra Leone in search of safety. When they left Liberia, many of them suffered; however, they suffered significantly less than those remaining in Liberia.

During the war, the Red Cross helped to take care of children that lost their parents. After the war, the Red Cross helped to reunite children who had been separated from their parents.

In 2002, when the war was almost over, people continued to stay in refugee camps, and others went to Maimu, Salala and Monrovia. The United Nation Mission in Liberia (UNDP) helped refugees with building materials to build the camp where they were staying because children were all lying in rain water.

World Food Program (WFP) helped to supply Liberia with wheat, oil, beans and flour. But in 2003, when Liberia was like a hell, there was no food or clothes. One piece of cassava was sold for about 50.00LD while one cup of rice was sold for about 150.00LD.

Liberians were happy to see the United Nation Mission in Liberia (UNDP). President Charles G. Taylor was removed to Sierra Leone. He was later taken into custody. The United Nation Mission in Liberia (UNDP) helped to make peace in Liberia.

Since the end of the war, other foreign countries have been helping to build schools and missions for the children of Liberia to learn and help the next generation that will come after them.

Liberia Mission is one of the missions in Liberia that has helped a lot of Liberians. I am happy to be a part of Liberia Mission because there are a lot of children in Liberia who are not able to attend school.

Many thanks to our sponsors and all those who are helping to make Liberia a better country, especially to those that helped to build this mission.

We are serious about learning because it is only education that will help us to make Liberia better.

3 thoughts on “The FIRST story posted from an LMI beneficiary…

  1. Joseph:
    I don’t know if you remember me, I am Carmen’s mother, Anita. I called you “Jose” when I visited last June. I read your article with much interest. It is very well written. I also read about you, Dania, Benjamin, and Emmanuel voting. That is a very big step. It is good you are being responsible citizens. I pray for all of you daily. I sent a donation in Bernadine’s name several months ago and will continue supporting you all. Please send my regards to all of my friends; too many to name. Here are just a few who are close to my heart: James, Sava, Siena, “Pele”, RRRRRufus, Lawrence, Lisa, and Sam. I remember you all. I feel blessed to have shared 2 weeks in your beautiful country last summer.

    Much love,

    Anita Prietto Cueto

  2. Hello Anita Prietto Cueto,
    How are you?
    Every things is going well with me at the mission. I miss you a lots, beca
    use during your visit at the mission you was kind to me. I am attending the ST.Kizito Catholic high school, Paynesville Red light.I just got through with my second marking test every things when on well. I appreciate your help to ward the mission, we are serious about our education because we want to make Liberia a better place in the future.I recieved the letter you wrote and I extend your greeting to all of the children and they were happy about you.Please my greeting to Carmen and the rest of the family.I Wish you a pre merry Christmas.
    May God be with you as you celebrate the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.

    1. Joseph:

      I just read your prompt reply today. I am sorry I am so late in replying to you; I did not know how to check for a response. thank you for sending my wishes to all of my friends in Liberia. Carmen is so funny. She is part of a group at her university that cheers at the athletic events. Carmen paints her face, and then screams and yells for her team. Here is a link to sneak a peak at her and her school:

      Are you happy that Mrs. Johnson won the election?

      Many blessing to you all.

      Anita

Leave a Reply

